Tags

, ,

My name is Petros, and I’m writing a book. But this, my friends, is not your typical writer’s blog.

I created this blog as a space to showcase the things I find fascinating. Including, but not limited to, maps, history, fantasy, language, and yes, writing.

If you are also interested in these things, then please join me! I will post every Sunday and Thursday.

Let me say, first and foremost, that I have an inordinate love of maps.  Old maps, new maps, hand drawn, computer generated. I can stare at a map for hours and just get lost in it.  The exotic names of faraway cities, the irregular borders between countries that tell a story, and the evolution of landmasses from vague squiggles into their definite forms all fascinate me.

When I was a kid, I wanted to be an explorer.  I was disappointed to learn that I was born in the wrong century.  It had all been discovered already.  Sure, there was Outer Space.  But that’s infinite, and rather bleak.  What I craved was the thrill of coming upon an undiscovered island and exploring inside to see what secrets lay within.

I began drawing maps of a fantasy world.  A continent and then a whole planet, with political boundaries changing through the centuries and coastlines becoming more distinct.  What must it be like to live in such a world that was still being fully discovered?

Recently, I found these old maps while cleaning my bedroom.  A flood of memories came back to me.  I wanted to start creating a history for this world.  For a while, I had felt that I was missing a creative outlet in my life, and this was just the spark I needed to let that energy out.

So recently, I started writing a fantasy novel, and it takes place on an island in this made-up world.  I’m loving it.  Maybe I’ll get it published some day. Maybe I’ll self-pubish it as an ebook through Amazon. But for the moment, I’m not worried about that. I’m just enjoying the process as a welcome diversion from my day job.

The story is still developing as I write it, but I have a very general outline. Here is my rough sketch of the premise:

The main character of the book is Zinke, the Chief Mapmaker of the Kingdom.  He is basically a rockstar in this world because the skill of cartography is very highly respected.  People are very visual in this world. They don’t write messages to each other; they draw maps.  Zinke’s job is create maps of the island, but when the neighboring Kingdom declares war, the King asks Zinke to join the army as their guide when they go into battle.

Ultimately, the fate of the Kingdom all depends on Zinke’s highly specific cartographic knowledge. Meanwhile, there are magical weapons to defend against and a mysterious map with secrets that Zinke finds and tries to interpret.

I might post snippets of my draft on the blog from time to time, so keep your eyes peeled. But the main purpose of the blog is about looking at interesting maps together and seeing what thoughts spring from there.

Please follow me and drop me a comment.  I’m also on Twitter @Petrosjordan.

Thank you for joining me!

