Tags

, , , , , , ,

For an online mapping and geospatial technology course, I created a map showing the location of the most popular pizza places in New Haven.  I used a website called ArcGIS, which allows you to create and collaborate on interactive maps.  It can be accessed at the following link: http://bit.ly/14sqfyS.

Here is what it looks like:

My map of New Haven pizza places

My map of New Haven pizza places

When you go to the site, you can click on points and it will bring up information about each place. You can also add your own points on the map.  If there’s a pizza place I left out, click “edit” at the top, then “stockpoint” or any other symbol on the left side, and then click on a point on the map to add it.  You can then add information about the place.  Once you add your own places to the map, you can save it and share it at the top, which lets other people visit your map if you give them the link.  Pretty cool, huh?

As for the map itself, I was inspired to create it since I recently moved to the fine city of New Haven and have been sampling its wonderful pizza options.  New Haven style pizza is called “apizza”, and it is baked in a brick oven with a very thin crust. Frank Pepe Pizzeria was the first to use this style in 1925, and many people say that it’s still the best pizza in the city, but lots of newer places compete with them for that title.  My personal favorite is Modern Apizza, but I have yet to try many of these places.  One interesting thing to note is that most of these places are relatively close to Yale’s campus, further cementing the old cliché of the undying love between a college student and a hot, delicious pizza.

Happy mapping!  Create your own at http://www.arcgis.com/home/index.html

